ACM Classic Books Series

Last summer, ACM posted PDF versions of some books in its Classic Books Series, which resulted from a poll of ACM members initiated by David Patterson, who was then ACM President. The books are accessible to anyone who creates a free ACM Web Account.

The available books include:

Update: I had neglected to include the book by Aho and Ullman..

Update: The URL above for the ACM Classic Books Series was updated to

Update: The URL was updated yet again, to, and John Allen’s Anatomy of LISP was added (see John Allen (1937-2022) and Anatomy of LISP).